09/01/2015: Chef Brad R. D.

Today started the orientation for the New Orleans site specifically.  Mostly it was just going over the ground rules of what it means to be a YAV, briefly discussing the city, going over calendars, and other basic logistics.  I also got other logistics for working in the Touro Infirmary done while the others grocery shopped such as talking with my supervisor, getting the key to my office, and medical tests done so I can legally visit patients.  Afterwards, I helped make dinner, which, for anyone who doesn’t know me, I’ll be honest in saying I can’t cook my way out of a paper bag if I don’t have a recipe in front of me.  So, cooking without a recipe will hopefully be a skill I can learn within the next 48-49 weeks learn.  Don’t get me wrong, double-decker PB & J sandwiches or microwave dinners (what I lived off of for my three years of seminary) taste great, but they’re not enough for sustenance.  So, I’m on my way to better living in a way.  Regardless, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

