09/12/2015: Nostalgia

Today was a really good day overall.  I got to wish my parents a happy anniversary.  I got to talk to my lovely niece who turned 7 today.  I got to celebrate a housemate’s birthday as well.  Probably most profound though was the barbecue some of us went to.  I didn’t know it was going to be at the house I stayed at during my mission trip to NOLA right after Katrina.  It felt almost like seeing an old friend again after a long period of time.  Walking around the house, memories flooded back to me, and I was surprised by the changes made.  For example, the men’s bedroom is now a full office, the women’s bedroom is now a classroom, and what was the bathroom is now just a closet.  I took pictures and have posted a few below.  Regardless, to the house I say, “It was great to see you again, old friend.  We’ll have to do this again sometime.”  In the end, I’ve come to remember, ironically, just how real and powerful nostalgia can be.  I almost want to go see Musician’s Village and the house I helped strip now.  Until then, may God bless you in all you do.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

