09/15/2015: No Problem

I finally got to visit with patients today, which definitely sent me into a nostalgic mindset, remembering the 8-12 hour shifts at Beaumont and how much my feet ached at the end of the day from walking around in dress shoes.  Fortunately for me, Touro is smaller than Beaumont, and I’m allowed to wear tennis shoes while making rounds.  I digress though.  I was shadowing the chaplain today, as I’ll be doing probably into next week.  One of the strangest things I learned though was that responding with “no problem” when someone thanks me isn’t a good response.  I’ve never thought about it being a generational thing, or as being unacceptable.  Instead, the chaplain suggested I thank the patients for allowing me to be with them.  I tried that with one of the patients who thanked me later on, and she gave me a look of confusion, potentially because I was forcing myself to say that instead of my intuitive “no problem” or “you’re welcome”.  Regardless, we’ll have to wait and see what other lessons arise during my rounds in the days and weeks to come.  Until then, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

