09/17/2015: The Little Things

I was visiting patients today, though still shadowing the chaplain and one of the volunteers.  During one of the visits, I was asked to close the visit in prayer.  So, I said a prayer I felt was fairly generic, nothing really special about it.  When I got done though, the patient was crying, and she said that it was a very beautiful prayer.  She said it meant a lot to her and expressed her thanks.  I hadn’t anticipated that a prayer I had probably said before would bring about such emotions, but yet, it did.  It really got me thinking about how much we take for granted and how the little things in life can have the biggest impact.  That $2 bus fair someone paid for you, the sandwich someone gives you when you forget your lunch, the hug and smile you get when you have a bad day, these can all seem minuscule in size compared to the “if only I had done . . .” scenarios we create in our heads.  In truth though, just like God was in “the still small voice” instead of the storm, the fire, the grandiose things, we forget that the little things in life can be just as meaningful as, if not more meaningful than, the flashy things.  To close, I’m reminded of a quote from Margaret Meed: “Never doubt that a small group of people can change the world, for indeed that is the only thing that ever has.”  I might be butchering it, but regardless, size is irrelevant so long as it has intention.  Anyway, good night, and may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

