10/07/2015: Renewed Hope

So, today was a regular day for the most part.  The one thing that caught my attention though was my visit to the Surgical Injury Rehabilitation floor.  As I was walking out, one of the patients was sitting in his wheelchair in a cap, gown, and chords, and one of the nurses was filling out a “certificate of completion” or some such paper for him upon his “graduation” from his rehabilitation.  To say that was the coolest thing I’ve seen yet at Touro is an understatement.  This was a great moment in this young man’s new life, and the staff on the floor made sure he enjoyed it as much as possible.  Not to say I had lost all hope in humanity, but this definitely renewed any hope that had been lost, and it made me wish something like this was done at other hospitals.  I know it wasn’t done at the hospital I did my CPE at.  Regardless, it was cool to see such compassion and to share, even if just as a bystander, in that young man’s moment.  I just hope there are more moments like this to come.  Until next time though, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

