10/18/2015: Slap in the Face

It’s odd how realizations can hit you like a slap in the face sometimes.  I had such a realization today.  When I arrived here in New Orleans, I was just a recent graduate of seminary going through the process of ordination, thinking I was on my way.  Little did I know just how much I still had to learn to be a good pastoral caregiver.  Looking back at the last month and a half, I’m in disbelief at how far I have come, but at the same time knowing how much further I can and will go in the next 9.5 months.  I’m starting to see now why God has led me here, what His plan is for me, and how much better off I will be as a result.  It makes me wonder though what it is that causes humanity to be resistant to divine direction.  Is it the unknown end, the not always seeing where the path is leading?  Is it our own selfish desires or egotisms that block our accepting the path laid before us?  Is it some combination of these, or is it something else?  I honestly don’t know, but I find it to be fun to think about.  What do you think?  Feel free to leave your responses in the comment section below, and thank you for your support thus far.  So, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

image

One thought on “10/18/2015: Slap in the Face

  1. Hey dude, thanks for the post. I resonate with several points, particularly because I experienced the bulk of my transformative process on the final lap of my ordination journey. Good to see such openness to the Process. Of course, we might often have those, “I should have stayed in Egypt moments,” but keep up the Courage and consider your own well-being as a sacred calling. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

