10/19/2015: Presence

Today was a fairly good day in comparison to most Mondays.  It was a little hard to get going, but once I got going, it went fairly well.  I had some really good visits with patients and got quite a bit done in my office in terms of reports, readings, answering emails, etc.  Perhaps I have finally established a rhythm that allows me to function to the best of my ability.  Probably the most important part of the day though was a visit with a patient who has requested daily visits from me.  Although I can’t list off too much for privacy’s sake, I did find out this person has no family or friends here to support them in their time of need, and for different reasons as well.  So, realizing I’m the only person who stops and listens to them on a daily basis, it blew me away.  It really got me thinking about how much of a difference one person can make in another person’s life just by being present for him or her, whether it is a time of need or not.  We don’t give enough to simple presence, in my opinion, and how invaluable it can be.  Perhaps we could all slow down to spend time with one another, to soak in the sights and sounds of the world around us.  I’ll leave you with that thought.  Also, if there is anything you want to know or hear, please feel free to leave a question in the comments at any time, or, if you have other contact information for me, message/email/call me.  Anyway, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

