10/29/2015: Words of Affirmation

Today was a really great day for me, not just because it’s my girlfriend’s and my two month anniversary, but because of a meeting I went to.  At one of the other hospitals in New Orleans, there was a luncheon put on to honor pastoral caregivers in the community.  What really caught me was what our speaker, a physician, said.  In pastoral care classes in seminary and in Clinical Pastoral Education, quite often it is noted that a holistic care for the patient is necessary for their health.  Never have I heard a physician, a person of science and medicine, mention the necessity of spiritual and emotional care in the healing process.  Also, never have I heard mentioned from a physician the need to truly put everything in God’s hands from the start, not just when science fails to fix the issue(s).  These might seem like simple things, maybe even things that go without saying, but as someone who has only ever heard these sorts of things from pastoral care educators both at seminary and in hospitals, it very quickly gains the potential for being a false sense of reassurance that our jobs are doing good.  This physician had nothing to lose or to gain in saying these things, but she said them anyway, and even became a little teary-eyed while doing so.  So, she either meant every word of her speech, or she’s a very good liar.  I’d like to think it’s the former rather than the latter.  Regardless, I have believed in the necessity of holistic healthcare ever since I first heard about it, and now I have affirmation it is more than just a comfort, but it’s a real thing that is recognized by the medical staffs.  It meant a lot to hear that, and I just wanted to share that with you all.  So, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

