10/30/2015: Masking Fear

Today was the day for trick-or-treating, since tomorrow night will supposedly be rainy and stormy.  So, the city recommended doing the trick-or-treating tonight, although it seemed like there weren’t many out tonight, meaning there will hopefully be more tomorrow night.  As I think about this, I admittedly find it odd, because I can remember wearing heavy winter attire under my king costume in the first grade, and going out when it was raining on a couple occasions.  We didn’t let the weather stop our going out, having fun, and eating too much candy late at night.  Regardless of that though, the two trick or treaters I saw were two brothers, both of whom were dressed up as skeletons, which got me thinking about how this holiday is just as much about community building as it is about getting high on candy.  I’d never seen these boys before, and I probably never will again, but that doesn’t change the fact that we shared a brief moment together, giving each other a happy feeling in simply being present.  For that moment, race, religion, orientation, etc., it didn’t matter, which makes me wonder it’s more possible to accept one another when we’re pretending to be something or someone we’re not than it is to accept each other for who he or she is.  Why do masks make it easier to accept one another?  I’ll leave you all with that food for thought.  Until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

