11/04/2015: Prep Time

The last couple days, my boss has had me doing personal prayer along with doing a few deep breaths before I enter each room.  At first, I didn’t know what to say, and what I did say felt so superficial.  Today though was different.  Realizing that what I said didn’t make any noticeable change to how I acted in the room but did change how I viewed my “success rate” (for lack of a better phrase).  I also found a prayer today that seems to work for me, as it did led to increased peace and greater feelings of success with my visits.  So, in short, not only am I feeling better about my abilities as a chaplain while I’m in the room, but I’m more positive in my reflecting back afterwards.  Then again, maybe that’s something we all need to do; to put what needs to he done in God’s hands and trust that He will use us as we are needed to fulfill His purpose.  I never thought about this, but a little prayer goes a long way, and all one can do is trust in its power.  Anyway, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

