11/12/2015: Unknown Improvement

I realize I didn’t post last night and I’m late in doing so tonight.  I honestly can’t remember if I posted two nights ago either.  So, just to bring things up to speed, Tuesday was a little crazy.  The two volunteer chaplains who were supposed to come in didn’t for various reasons, meaning I had twice as many people to see that day.  However, in the midst of those visits was my first visit with the family of a dying patient.  While I can’t go into a lot of detail for legal reasons, I will say that there was something odd about the visit.  The patient was slowly fading away, much like both of my grandfathers.  I actually thought about seeing them for the last time while I was with the family, and although I can’t explain fully what happened (I don’t understand it much myself), the best way I can describe it is that I felt the emotions enough to deepen my connection with the family while not going deep enough for it to cause debilitating emotions.  Fast forward to today when I presented this in a report to my boss, and she pointed out quite a bit that I was doing right or come so far on in comparison to the beginning of the year.  It wasn’t until then that I saw just how far I have come.  One of the biggest things I’ve struggled with though was finding a balance between being professional and being authentically me, something I apparently did in this visit without realizing it.  I don’t know how I did it; I just did.  Call it a miracle or an act of God if you must.  Anyway, it does bring to question how one does balance that in the work world.  That’s definitely something to think on.  So, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

One thought on “11/12/2015: Unknown Improvement

Leave a Reply

