11/14/2015: 5k and Skype

So, there were two major points for me today.  The first was the 5k this morning.  I didn’t run, nor did I really care about the time, but I walked it in 1:07:20 (or there abouts).  I also got a later start though because of the group I was walking with not all being there and figuring out who was going to start now and who would wait for the others.  Regardless, it was my first 5k ever, and in the end, I’m glad I didn’t cheat and cut back when no one was looking.

The other thing that happened today was that I finally got Skype to work, which allowed me to see my girlfriend for the first time in 2.5 months.  Now, neither of us may have been overly dressed up, nor did we talk about anything out of the normal.  Saying it to a face though, saying it to someone who you can not only hear their voice but experience the expressions that go along with the words, truly they are invaluable, being second only to talking in person.  Also though, I was reminded of the little things that I might otherwise not have thought of, like how beautiful her eyes are, or just how great her smile is.  I could go on, but today’s conversation was invaluable in comparison to others.  I could tell we were both in need of this, especially since it looks like we won’t get to see each other until the weekend of Valentines Day.  So, it truly was a blessing beyond words, and I look forward to our next time.  It also makes one think though why the more intimate conversations  (e.g. one on one) have been so readily replaced by more and more depersonalized means of communication  (e.g. texting).  What is so wrong with talking to a friend in person that we must settle for minute messages with smiley faces?  Texting has its place, don’t get me wrong, but it’s being overused, like it’s the only way to talk now.  Regardless, that’s food for thought for y’all.  So, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

