11/29/2015: Thanksgiving

I realize I haven’t posted in a few days.  I was at my host family’s house for the Thanksgiving weekend.  While I was there, I had the opportunity to go to the zoo, to my first Renaissance festival, and to assist in lighting the first advent candle.  Looking back though, I realize how many things I have to be thankful for.  I’m thankful for my family and friends both near and far who are pillars of strength for me in my times of need.  I’m thankful for the wonderful housemates I have here in New Orleans, whom I can laugh with and co-explore God’s plan for humanity.  I’m thankful for a faith that knows no end, and for a God who loves me beyond all measure, even when I don’t.  On our three month anniversary, I am reminded of my girlfriend who is one of the greatest blessings of all.  I truly cannot believe I have found someone as funny, compassionate, and geeky as she is, and she continues to bless me every day, even when we are apart.  I am thankful for the education I have been able to receive.  I could go on, but I will close with this:  I often forget to count my blessings, but by simply putting forth the effort to count my blessings, I am overwhelmed by how much I have to be thankful for as opposed to that which I have to grieve over.  I find this mindset to be common among many humans as we go about our lives, always pushing onward and upward, rarely (if ever) stopping to look back on the things we have, both physical and emotional.  So, I invite you, if you don’t already, to count your blessings, to find how you have been blessed and to never let that knowledge go.  Anyway, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

