12/02/2015: Change of Command

I forgot to post last night.  So, this is going to be a twofer.  Honestly, there hasn’t been too much that has happened the last couple days.  The visits with patients improve with every day, and the community life at the house is going very well (from what I’ve seen anyway).  What has changed though is why I’m here in NOLA.  Originally, my position was created with the hopes of both establishing long-term relationships between the pastoral care department and congregations in the surrounding area, and to recruit clergy of various faiths to be on call during the nights, weekends, and early mornings.  However, the decision was made that, since I am only an intern in a temporary position, it would not be right for me to spearhead the project.  My supervisor will be spearheading the project instead.  That way, the congregations have a relationship both with someone who is in a leadership role and who is there on a permanent basis.  I will still help here and there with the project, but it is no longer my main concern.  I’ll instead be designing (for the time being) care packages for nurses who recently lost a patient.  This is alongside continuing to  visit and provide spiritual care to both staff and patients.  I don’t see this project taking a full eight months to complete though.  So, I assume there will be other projects along the way.  As I get more info, I’ll be sure to let you all know.  Until then though, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

