12/07/2015: Pridefully Prejudicial

If you were asked to visit a patient in a unit of the hospital that deals with brain injuries, what would you expect to happen?  A patient who cannot talk?  Maybe you would expect one who can make sounds, but cannot form words.  Then again, there’s always the expectation the patient will be in an altered state of mind and may be violent or uncontrollable.  Admittedly, these were all thoughts that went through my head when I was told there was a referral for someone in that unit.  Never mind the fact that “brain injury” could be any of a whole host of conditions.  My mind admittedly went to those prejudicial thoughts of “what if”, just (as I found out later) as my supervisor’s did as well.  Upon looking back on it, I can’t help but think about how we are all victims of and make others victims of prejudice.  I must wonder why we do this to one another.  Is it out of the fear that, should we fail to meet some self-defined goal, our pride will be hurt?  Does it have something to do with the societal norm to makes “others” of the unfamiliar or the uncomfortable?  Maybe it’s a combination of both, and maybe it’s something else entirely.  I don’t know.  It does make me wonder though, and if you have an opinion, feel free to comment below.  Also, thank you all for following me on here.  I just hope you’re having as much fun as I am.  Anyway, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

