12/13/2015: Retreat

Over the weekend, the other YAVs and I went on a retreat to a cabin in the woods on the north side of Louisiana.  Amidst no wifi, cell reception, and not being as relaxing as might have been desired, it did allow us time to meditate on the advent season, to escape the business of living in a big city, and not have to smell some funkiness going on in the house (details are sworn to secrecy).  So, it was advantageous in some regards.  I’ve posted a couple pictures below.

image

image

Above is the cabin we all stayed in.  I’m sad I didn’t think to take pictures of the inside when I had the chance, but oh well.  It was still a very pretty area with more color than has been seen in NOLA.

image

Above is from the first night.  We did one of out reflections outside at a little sanctuary area nearby.  It was pitch black out, but very clear skies and was beautiful.  Anyway, as lighting for the service, we each had a candle.  Since I knew I’d be getting wax on my hand, I just directed its direction of flow.  Once it was done, I had a very pretty molding around the side of my hand which, on the inside, captured all the indents in my skin.  It actually looked kind of cool.  However, those pieces broke off before I could get a good picture.  Regardless though, it was fun, and best of all, I got some great brainstorming done for my next novel.  So, I’m pumped.  Anyway, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

