01/02/16: The New Year

I realize I haven’t posted in a few days.  To bring everyone up to speed, it’s the new year, and for the second time in my life, I actually stayed up for the new year.  A few of my housemates and I played games upstairs so we could see the fireworks, and boy did we see them.  We also heard plenty of guns going off, which everyone said, “Oh, it’s a New Orleans thing.”  The fact is though that it isn’t just New Orleans.  It’s a Detroit thing.  It’s a Pittsburgh thing.  It’s an everywhere thing.  Truly, if we want to categorize it as one thing, let’s just call it for what it is: it’s a horrible thing.  Stray bullets flying everywhere, people getting hit with said bullets, it’s a horrible thing that I feel shouldn’t be a thing.  Regardless, the rest of the end of the year celebrations went off without a problem.  Getting to sit down and just hang out with friends, play games and watch a movie, not have to worry about what comes next, it brings back memories of seminary and friends I will always treasure.  All the kisses on cheeks, made me wish my sweetheart were here to enjoy it with me.  In the end though, it was a good time, and hope there are many more times like it to come.  Until next time, may God bless you in all you do, and Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

