03/14/2016: My Birthday

Hey all.  So, as you can see from the title, today is my birthday.  As odd as it might sound, this year felt more like a birthday than any previous year (at least to my recollection).  I say it’s odd because it was so much different than previous ones.  For starters, this is the first one I haven’t celebrated with family or been home for.  While I did get to hang out with my housemates, and while they are like a family to me, it’s not the same.  Also, this is the first one that I can remember not being in school for.  Thirdly, this is the only time I can recall it being in the 80s on my birthday.  Otherwise, I cannot think of how else it varies, but it still feels different, and in a great way.  Maybe it has something to do with how much I recognize that I have grown or how much others tell me I’ve grown.  Then again, outside of growth, maybe it has something to do with the love I have found for myself, something that has been lacking in years past.  So, with this self-growth, improved self-esteem, this time away from family and friends, maybe I’ve finally begun to blossom.  I don’t know.  There’s still plenty of time left in the year to grow more and to impress even myself I’m sure.  Regardless, I want to thank everyone who has given me a “happy birthday,” and even if it did seem like the best in a while, it wasn’t the same without my loved ones around.  I’ve included some pictures below of some of the decorations and the cards.  Anyway, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

image

image

Leave a Reply

