04/26/2016: Spring Retreat

Well, it’s been a while since I last posted.  There really hasn’t been anything major to report, with the exception of the retreat this past weekend.  Starting last Thursday, the NOLA YAVs traveled to Gulf Shores, AL, and met up with the YAVs from Little Rock, Nashville, Asheville, Atlanta, and Miami.  We stayed in the same house for three nights, worshipping, eating, and playing together.  My favorite part of the trip though was getting to see my sweetheart again and spend the weekend with her.  Walking down the beach, playing in the pool, watching sunsets and sunrises, it was absolutely amazing.  I’d even say it was nothing short of blissful.  What I didn’t realize until afterwards though was just how out of place I feel in NOLA, and not because of the culture, the weather or anything like that.  It’s because I am a nature lover.  While I was out there on the beach, you could see, hear, smell, and feel the blue waters as they gently crashed into the shore.  The crisp blue waters set against mostly clear skies and the sounds of seagulls overhead, it’s very melodic, very soothing, in short, very spiritually rejuvenating.  I felt so alive while I was there, so blissful and calm, all of which disappeared when I got back Sunday afternoon.  I’m not saying I hate it here, not one bit.  I’m just not a city boy, and the weekend away reminded me of that.  Regardless, I came back feeling refreshed and ready to take on whatever comes next.  I just hope that, someday, when I’m the pastor of a church, my Sabbath Day (whichever day of the week it might be) will be just as refreshing.  Anyway, I’ve put some pictures below.  Until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

image

image

image

image

One thought on “04/26/2016: Spring Retreat

Leave a Reply

