06/02/2016: Going Home

Tomorrow, I head back to Michigan for four days.  I have a meeting with the Committee on Preparation for Ministry on Tuesday, and I will find out whether or not I am ready to begin the process of searching for a call.  The weird thing is, I’ve always been nervous about those meetings, but this time, I’m not.  Maybe that speaks to how I’ve grown over the past year, or maybe it just speaks to my sleep deprivation.  LOL.  Seriously though, it’s a weird feeling to not be nervous about the meeting for the first time in my life.  For lack of a better word, it’s liberating.  What’s even weirder though is the thought of going home for a few days.  Since I arrived here on August 20th last year, I haven’t left the New Orleans area.  I did go on a couple retreats and to orientation, yes, but those were official YAV events.  This is my first trip somewhere that’s nothing to do with YAV.  Now that I think of it, it might also be my first time flying alone, but I digress.  Honestly though, after eating, sleeping, and breathing New Orleans for 9 months, to be back in Michigan will be very different for me, especially since I will be seeing it with a new set of eyes.  I don’t know, we’ll see what happens.  I do look forward to seeing family again though.  I have missed them, and getting a chance to see them again, to hold them, it’s not an opportunity I plan to squander.  I’ll be sure to keep you all updated.  So, until next time, may God bless you in all you do.

Leave a Reply

