07/12/2016: Family

Good evening all.  I hope you all are well.  I come to you tonight with a story about the family I’ve made down here.  The eight of us moved in together last August, not knowing a thing about each other, and tonight really displayed how close we have become over the last ten or eleven months.  We had a meeting, like we do every Tuesday night, and after the activities wrapped up, we did a relaxation exercise, where we all laid down, and we were able to go to someone and, without speaking, put pressure on him or her as a way of saying thank you, wishing them well, and showing our care for them.  After that happened, we all began piling up on the family room floor.  We were all laying on each other’s stomachs and backs, our hands, arms, and legs going every which way, kind of creating a single unit.  We laid there for a while just talking, laughing, and crying, and I loved it.  The fact that we were able to share that kind of closeness with one another was a really sacred thing.  After, we listened to and sang along with various love songs, laughing and loving each other’s presence.  All I can think in looking back is that I will miss this when my year gets done.  The thought of leaving this family I’ve made is heartbreaking.  I by no means claim that we are perfect or that we always get along.  We have fought with each other, and there have been tempers and tears, but there have also been many laughs, smiles, hugs, and growth.  While a dysfunctional family, we are a family nonetheless, and nothing we say or do will destroy the sacred bond that we have made.  I will miss these girls and guy when I leave, and I’ll be a bit heartbroken, but I’ll survive.  No matter the distance, we are still a family, and nothing will ever change that.  Anyway, I could go on, but it would just be repeating what has already been said.  So, until next time, may God bless you in all you do. 

Leave a Reply

